A Fishy Question

In a previous post I told you that I make my own bread.  However, forever churlish, there are occasions when my other half would prefer a loaf of ‘shop bought’ bread.  He has taken to occasionally buying a loaf of ‘tiger’ bread, which I believe is available in a number of supermarkets and bakeries.

Have you tasted it?  It has a fairly crunchy upper crust which is mottled.  An internet search yielded this recipe for a loaf or two of bread

‘The bread mix is standard but the clever bit is the topping, I found one recipe for it, however it is commercial sized so you will need to proportion it down to size, this is to go with 5Kg of flour!

Rice Flour 1 1/2 Kg
Water 1 1/2 Kg
Sugar 90 grm
Vegetable Oil 75 grm
Salt 30grm
Fresh Yeast 30grm (or 1 sachet Instant)

Mix all ingredients for the Tiger Skin together till smooth – set aside
Make your usual white bread, mould or tin it, spread tiger mix evenly on top of dough, prove for about 55 minutes, bake at 200 deg for about 55 minutes or until cooked.’

I really couldn’t believe that there is a whole forum discussing this particular type of bread – and many of the comments seem to say that the recipe doesn’t work!   I won’t be trying it out, however, and to prove it we have finally come to the question.

If anyone has actually tasted this bread – do you agree with me that it tastes of fish?

I think it smells of fish too

And I don’t fancy fish and marmalade!